States Where Gay Marriage Is Legal


States Where Gay Marriage Is Legal share your thoughts

in progress 0
, 3 weeks 1 Answer 5 views 0

Answer ( 1 )

  1. Currently, gay marriage is legal in twenty-eight countries throughout the world. In the United States of America, same-sex marriages are recognized and practiced in all fifty states, including Washington DC.

    In addition to the US, some other countries that have legalized gay marriage include: Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland (including North Atlantic autonomous territories), Ireland (including Northern Ireland and South Africa), Luxembourg (including Sint Maarten and Greenland), Malta Mexico (state of Quintana Roo only), Netherlands (including Aruba and Curacao), New Zealand (including Pitcairn Island) Norway Portugal Scotland South Africa Spain Sweden Taiwan Uruguay The United Kingdom (England Wales and Scotland)

    Gay marriage is also recognized but not performed in some other countries around the world. These include Austria Japan Taiwan Gibraltar India Colombia Chile Andorra Israel Australia Northern Ireland Japan Puerto Rico Peru Cyprus Guam Liechtenstein Slovenia Saint Lucia Estonia Costa Rica Marshall Islands Tunisia United States Virgin Islands Mexico Barbados Bulgaria Croatia Bosnia & Herzegovina Hungary Mexico Monaco Russia Serbia Czech Republic Italy Although same sex couples cannot legally marry in these countries yet it does provide hope for the future that laws will be established as progress is made. Equality is a human right after all!

    Introduction: Summary of the issue

    The issue of gay marriage is a controversial one that has been making its way through the United States’ legislative systems since the mid-20th century. At first, same-sex couples could not get married in any state – and many states even passed laws to criminalize it – but over time as opinion shifted, so too did certain state laws and court decisions. Today there are now thirty-five states that recognize and legally allow same-sex marriage. While most of these have embraced this new legal reality with open arms, some states have still refused to grant full marital equality.

    Gay marriage continues to be a strongly contested issue in some parts of the country, with supporters and critics going toe-to-toe on the issue from social and religious perspectives. Ultimately though, each state has had to grapple with this issue whether by accommodating or combating it. Those who have chosen the former route can all lay claim to having legalized gay marriage in their respective states despite often facing opposition from extreme religious groups and conservatives alike.

    History of Same-sex Marriage in the United States

    The history of same-sex marriage in the United States can be traced back to prehistoric Native American cultures, where same-sex unions were sometimes celebrated and recognized by some tribes as legitimate. The issue of recognition for same-sex marriages first began gaining more widespread attention in the late 1990s and early 2000s. During this period, several states passed statutes banning same-sex marriage or refusing to recognize marriages performed in other states that permitted it. In 2003, the Supreme Court struck down state laws barring gay marriage in its landmark case Lawrence v. Texas.

    In 2015, the Supreme Court declared unconstitutional all state bans on same-sex marriage under the Due Process Clause and Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the US Constitution in its landmark decision Obergefell v. Hodges. This meant that all 50 states had to recognize legal same-sex marriages on an equal basis with opposite sex marriages—effectively legalizing gay marriage throughout the entire nation! Today, there are 30 states that have legalized or recognized same-sex marriage, and 38+ jurisdictions wherein any couple can marry regardless of gender identity or orientation.

    Current Status: Which States Allow Gay Marriage?

    Gay marriage is legal in 35 U.S. states and the District of Columbia. Those states are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa , Kansas, Maine, Maryland , Massachusetts , Michigan , Minnesota , Missouri , Montana , Nevada , New Jersey , New Mexico , New York , North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin and Wyoming.

    Each state has its own laws governing marriage licenses and therefore has different guidelines regarding same-sex marriages that must be adhered to. It is important to research the specific laws of the state you plan to get married in before proceeding with any kind of marriage ceremony. Additionally some cities have extended additional benefits and rights to same sex couples including adoption rights so it’s important to research city-specific laws as well as state laws when planning a same sex wedding or family formation process.

    Consequences for Those Who Are Not Legally Married

    While the legalization of gay marriage has granted couples many benefits, there are serious consequences for those who are not legally married. Unfortunately, if one partner dies or becomes incapacitated and the couple is not legally married, their rights to any assets such as property or insurance could be affected by inheritance laws related to unmarried persons.

    Inheritance laws vary by state, so it’s crucial to understand what factors come into play when determining access to a deceased partner’s assets. In some states, even if a couple lived together for years, only those that were legally married will be allowed to inherit assets.

    Likewise, while partners may provide necessary care in times of financial hardship or illness, any medical decisions must be made by a statue of next-of-kin listed on one’s birth certificate. As with property and legal documents, spouses would have priority over unmarried partners.

    Couples should familiarize themselves with the inheritance laws in their states and create wills for any desired distributions at the time of death in case they are not legally married.

    U.S Supreme Court Rulings on Gay Marriage

    The U.S. Supreme Court has been the driving force behind gay marriage becoming legal in many states throughout the country. Prior to 2015, only 19 states and Washington D.C had recognized same-sex marriage as legally binding. But on June 26th of that year, the United States Supreme court ruled that state bans on same sex-marriage are unconstitutional, which made it legal for all 50 states to recognize gay marriages.

    Since that time, the U.S. Supreme Court has also regularly weighed in on related issues such as religious freedom, employment discrimination protection, and adoption rights for same-sex couples. This wide range of rulings has allowed many LGBT Americans to gain visibility and secure full legal recognition in their respective states across the nation. As of today, all 50 states and Washington D.C have legalized gay marriage thanks largely to all these historic rulings by the nation’s highest court!