Where Is Gay Marriage Legal In The Us


Where Is Gay Marriage Legal In The Us hope to find the answer here

in progress 0
, 1 week 1 Answer 8 views 0

Answer ( 1 )

  1. In the United States, same-sex marriage is legal in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and five Indian tribes. It is also legal in Mexico City, two separate Mexican states and various parts of the United States.

    The United States Supreme Court ruled in 2015 that states must under the Fourteenth Amendment’s Due Process and Equal Protection Clauses license and recognize lawful same-sex marriages. The court ruled that all other bans on same-sex marriage are unconstitutional.

    Today, Gay marriage is recognized in all 50 US states as a result of this ruling on June 26th 2015 which effectively legalized it across the nation. Same Sex couples are also allowed to file joint tax returns as well as benefit from any federal program where marital status is a consideration.

    Such programs include immigration enhancements for married couples and family medical leave for those caring for one’s sick spouse or partner. Furthermore, rights concerning inheritance, survivor benefits upon death of a partner, hospital visitation privileges were granted by some Federal governmental departments through an executive order issued in 2014 by President Obama with regards to Federal regulation respect (Department Health & Human Services).

    Gay Marriage

    Gay marriage is currently legal in the United States, although it is not legal in all fifty states. Presently, a total of thirty-six states and the District of Columbia allow same-sex couples to wed. Before 2015, individuals were only allowed to marry members of the opposite sex as defined by their state laws. All that changed with the historic June 26th Obergefell v Hodges decision which declared state bans on same sex marriages to be unconstitutional throughout America.

    The right for same-sex couples to legally marry has been ushered in an era where LGBT rights are respected and celebrated rather than persecuted and oppressed. This monumental decision has re-shaped the traditional heteronormative view of marriage relationship and provided thousands of families with fundamental human rights previously denied to them due to their sexual orientation.

    In addition this ruling also extended a plethora of additional financial protection afforded exclusively married couples such as tax benefits, adoption policies, healthcare plans and even military insurance availability.

    Overview of History and Current Legal Status of Gay Marriage in the US

    The history of gay marriage in the United States can be traced back to 2004, when Massachusetts became the first state to make same-sex marriage legal. Since then, a wave of legal victories has swept across the country and today, many states allow gay couples to legally marry.

    At the federal level, however, the legal situation is still complicated – though President Obama’s administration supported legalizing same-sex marriages nationwide. In 2015 the Supreme Court affirmed that marriage is a constitutional right for couples of all orientations. This ruling finally gave gay couples nationwide access to civil rights related to marriage such as shared insurance policies and medical decisions.

    Today, fourteen US states have fully legalized same-sex marriage including Washington DC. Other US states have granted some limited recognition for domestic partnerships and civil unions as an alternative for couples but not full marital status. Many other US states have banned or refused to recognize same-sex marriages altogether.

    The SCOTUS Ruling That Legalized Same-Sex Marriage

    In 2015, the Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS) made a monumental decision in favor of same-sex marriage. In Obergefell v. Hodges and four other related cases, SCOTUS ruled that all states had to allow same-sex marriages and that those marriages must be recognized and given the same legal status as any other marriage in the US. This decision effectively legalized gay marriage across the country!

    Since then, numerous states have stepped up to implement this ruling, ensuring that LGBT couples have access to the laws and benefits that straight couples enjoy. For example, both same-sex and opposite-sex spouses are now allowed to bring a joint tax filing and receive health insurance through their partner’s plan.

    Essentially, this momentous ruling legally recognized marriage equality for LGBT couples across America. This has been a historic victory for members of the LGBT community, who for many years fought for their right to marry without discrimination.

    What States Currently Allow Gay Marriage?

    Currently, 40 states (including Washington D.C.) have legal protection for same-sex marriage. This means that gay marriage is not only legal in these states, but also backed up by laws and statutes regarding it. The states where same-sex marriage is currently legal are:

    – California

    – Colorado

    – Connecticut

    – Delaware

    How Does a Couple Obtain a Same-Sex Marriage License?

    Getting a same-sex marriage license in the US is fairly straightforward, but the exact process varies slightly by state. Generally speaking, a couple must both appear at their local county clerk’s office to apply for the license.

    The couple will usually be asked to bring valid photo identification with them and fill out the necessary paperwork. Depending on where the couples live, they might have to wait a few days after filling out their application before they can receive the license.

    In most states, there is a small fee associated with obtaining a same-sex marriage license, which often goes toward funding programs such as domestic abuse prevention of LGBT youth. Additionally, some states might require that couples attend premarital counseling before receiving a license, although this requirement does not typically apply to same-sex couples.